The Board of Directors is comprised of VEGA Member organization representatives.

VEGA Board of Directors


John PompayJohn D. Pompay
Chief Financial & Operating Officer, FSVC

John Pompay is the Chief Financial & Operating Officer and Assistant Treasurer of the Board for the Financial Services Volunteer Corps (FSVC). Mr. Pompay is also the President of the Pompay Group LLC, a consultancy that provides business solutions to those who engage it. Mr. Pompay holds a MBA from Columbia Business School and a BS degree in finance from Siena College. He is a graduate of the General Electric Financial Management Program and an alumnus of the General Electric Audit Staff and the General Electric Six Sigma Quality Team.


Vice Chairman

David Hartingh
Executive Vice President and COO, IESC

David Hartingh is an entrepreneurial international development executive with more than 20 years of experience in small business development, international trade, and international economic development. His experience prior to joining IESC headquarters in 2005 includes launching and selling his own franchised small enterprise, managing a USAID-funded international trade and investment project operating in 37 countries, servicing clients with an international trade policy consulting firm, and advising franchised businesses as a franchise consultant. David is a native English speaker and speaks Spanish. He holds a bachelor’s degree from the University of Virginia and a master’s degree in International Economic Affairs from George Washington University.


Mary Jo Robinson
Director of Finance, Administration and IT, Land O’Lakes International Development

Mary Jo Robinson is the Director of Finance, Administration and IT for Land O’Lakes International Development. Mary Jo has been with Land O’Lakes for 25 years. During that time she has held a variety of financial and operational roles with both Land O’Lakes, Inc. and Land O’Lakes International Development. She has worked exclusively in international development since 2002. Mary Jo holds a BA in Accounting from the University of Wisconsin – Eau Claire, an MBA in International Financial Management from the University of St. Thomas, and is registered as a Certified Public Accountant with the State of Minnesota.



David Grossman
Director Global Program Management, International City/County Management Association (ICMA)

David Grossman brought 30 years of technical and managerial experience in international development to his position when he became director of ICMA International in January 2008. In addition to his experience in municipal development, he has expertise in such areas as finance, credit, and urban infrastructure. He began his professional career with the New York City Planning Commission, helping tenants to organize and maintain their buildings. After a year with the United Nations Development Program, he served for six years as a U.S. Agency for International Development (USAID) Foreign Service Officer, in Honduras and Costa Rica. From 1984 to 1994 he worked in the USAID Office of Housing and Urban Programs, including serving as its chief operating officer (COO). He later held COO positions with USAID’s Global Bureau Environment Center and USAID’s Office of Development Credit. Most recently he served as the senior advisor for research and development for the USAID Development Credit Authority. During his years at USAID, he received Honor Awards and other citations for outstanding performance. He has a bachelor’s degree in political science/Latin American studies from the State University of New York at Buffalo and a master’s degree in international affairs, with a specialization in economics and urban planning, from Columbia University, in New York City. He speaks English and Spanish. Contact:

Board Members:

  • Michael Deal – President & CEO, Volunteers for Economic Growth Alliance (VEGA), ex officio
  • Magdalena Biela-Juenge – Senior Program Manager, Institute of International Education (IIE)
  • Anne Simmons-Benton – Executive Director, Arizona State University (ASU)
  • DeAnn McGrew – Director of Volunteer Technical Assistance, Winrock International
  • Elizabeth Adams – Technical Specialist for Agriculture, Global Communities
  • Dr. Indrajeet Chaubey – Professor, Department of Agricultural and Biological Engineering, Purdue University
  • Megan O’Donnell – Director of Financial Inclusion, World Council of Credit Unions (WOCCU)
  • Nick Ramsing – Senior Project Manager, Private Sector Development-Agriculture, Mennonite Economic Development Associates (MEDA)
  • David Roche – Executive Director, Coffee Quality Institute (CQI)
  • Margaret Anderson – Director of Farmer-to-Farmer, Cultivating New Frontiers in Agriculture (CNFA)

Emeritus Members – Past Chairmen of the Board

Dr. Donald E. Hawkins
SAVE Travel Alliance, 2013-2015

Tom Campbell
CNFA, 2011 – 2013

Michael Levett
CDC Development Solutions (now PYXERA Global), 2009 – 2011

Spencer King
International Executive Service Corps (IESC), 2007 – 2009

David Norman
Winrock International, 2006 – 2007

Malcom Butler
Partners of the Americas, 2004 – 2006